Thursday, July 31, 2008

Nav Nidhis

In Hindu mythology , Lord kuber is considered as God of wealth, who is guardian of North direction. He was the son of Sage Visharwa and brother of king Ravana. He is also known as “Hiranya-garbha” meaning belly of jewel. He is known to be owner of nine kinds of wealth called as “ Nav Nidhis”. The literal meaning of nidhi is treasure. Each nidhi is personified as having a guardian spirit, and some tantrikas worship them. Following are the 9 treasure of kuber-
1)Mahapadma (great lotus flower)
2)Padma (lotus flower)
3)Shankha (conch)
4)Makara (Crocodile)
5)Kachchhapa (tortoise)
6)Mukunda (a precious stone)
7)Kunda (jasmine)
8)Nila (sapphire)
9)Kharva (dwarf)

Monday, July 28, 2008

Ashta Sidhi

While reciting “Hanuman chalisaa” , we come across the word “Ashta-sidhi”. It is believe that lord Hanuman is a possessor of 8 kinds of sidhis. Literal meaning of the word “sidhi” is “precision”. In Hinduism this word is used for depicting the meaning “ Attainment of heighest peak in spirituality”. It refers to spiritual paranormal powers. It is of 8 kinds as follows-
1)Anima: Paranormal power to reduce one's body even to infinitely small.
2)Mahima: power to expand one's body to an infinitely large.
3)Garima: power to become infinitely heavy.
4)Laghima: power of becoming weightless.
5)Prapti: ability to move anywhere without restriction.
6)Prakamya: power to know the desires of other.
7)Isitva: powers of having complete lordship;
8)Vasitva: the power to conquer all.

All the above superpowers are possessed by Lord Hanuman. Even in astrology when a person is under the malefic influence of Shani or its Sade-saati, the recitation of “Hanuman chalisa” works as a best remedy. The reason is simple. Being a possessor of 8 sidhis he is the God who is capable of warding off all evils.

Thursday, July 3, 2008


It is believe that each day of lord Brahama consist of 4,320,000,000 years. This period can be further subdivided into 14 units called manvantar consisting 306,720,000 years each. Each manvantar is ruled by “Manu”. So there are 14 Manus correspond to each day of lord Brahma. The order of Manu is as follows

  1. Swayambhoo
  2. Swarochisha
  3. Uttama
  4. Tamas
  5. Raivat
  6. Chakshush
  7. Vaivaswat
  8. Savarni
  9. Daksha Savarni
  10. Brahma Savarni
  11. Dharma Savarni
  12. Rudra Savarni
  13. Daiva Savarni
  14. Indra Savarni
As per classics 50 days of Lord Brahma has been passed. Currently 7th Manu ,that is Vaivaswat is running